Dragons’ Den Season 2 episode 7 review

cbc-dd.jpg
(Cross posted at Kempton with possible additional readers’ comments)

The following are my brief reviews and comments of the Dragons’ Den Season 2 episode 7 business ideas and pitches.

*******

House keeping comment:

I am a big Dragons’ Den fan but I am very disappointed with the businesses and pitches in this episode. I haven’t reviewed any of the previous episodes so quickly and use so many, “Unfortunately, not really a business.” to review a business pitch.

I have to say this episode is probably my least favourite episode in season 2 and probably season 1 (allowing for time to learn). I really hope the remaining episodes will feature better businesses or pitches.

*******

Print-a-kid

On some level, I admire the entrepreneurial creativeness of Noemi Berius in creating her business as a result of “looking for an educational gift to give my goddaughter. I wanted to find a book with a hero that looked like her, with her darker skin, beautiful long brown hair and big brown eyes …

At the same time there are three challenges that make this investment by Arlene (100K for 51% of the company) a risky one in some sense.

1) The stories can be copyrighted but the concept cannot. If others see the product profitable, there is nothing stopping them from entering this market and creating their own version of these customized stories, etc.

2) Even though Noemi suggested in the Dragons’ Den Forum that her primary motivation for this product was not for data mining. But the potential for comprehensive data mining of young kids (and targeted marketing to them and their parents) are clear and present dangers. I blogged about the potential abuse by current corp of multi-nationals (including brands like Barbie Girls) in an October blog entry, “Children’s Privacy Online” (with video) based on materials from Office of the Privacy Commissioner, so I won’t repeat my discussion here.

3) As a result of the privacy concerns expressed in #2, I don’t know how knowledgeable parents will react about giving up their children’s privacy in such a young age. The problem with an extremely customizable product full of personal details is that it will be quite a challenge to establish an acceptable privacy policy.

*******

Fryed Rockit

Not really a viable business. Kevin is known for his “personal style”. But it is a bit sad for me to see Kevin toy with the entrepreneur for paying him $50 to buy his prototype. I suppose it is his right to offer what he likes, and it is up to the entrepreneur to reject or accept. Still, based on the edited footage, the $50 offer seemed a bit insulting to the entrepreneur and appeared meaner than needed to be.

*******

Mrakic Gold Holdings

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

K9 Kamper

The entrepreneur should really try to sell her product first as oppose to raise money to buy inventory which she had yet to sell one (at taped time).

*******

Bluewater Technologies

Dragons’ Den is probably the wrong forum for seriously raising $10 million. On the other hand, the free national TV exposure can be a good thing for many companies that need to raise funds.

*******

Saxx

I know nothing about men’s underwear as a business.

*******

Aerotag

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

Stemcell Consumer Guide

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

Bend-No-More

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

Tampac

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

Stainless Steel Monuments

Unfortunately, not really a business.

*******

Garage Door Sports Screen

Unfortunately, not really a business.

One Response to Dragons’ Den Season 2 episode 7 review

  1. Your privacy is important

    Hi Kempton,
    Very thoughtful post as usual. I have to say I admire the work you have done and the comments that you write . I love http://www.startup-review.com . It is quite insightful. I appreciate the work you have put in to help entrepreneurs.
    I agree …

