W. Brett Wilson – The Five Million Dollar Man

cbc-dd.jpg

I couldn’t find any public record but I suspect W. Brett Wilson, the newest CBC Dragon and chairman of FirstEnergy Capital, worths considerably more than five million dollars. (big smile) Here is what Brett told Globe and Mail Report on Business in a 2007 interview,

[Reporter:] How much money do you have to work with?
[Brett:] Enough to get by. I like a model used in some private banking circles: You have three buckets of assets. The first bucket is your lifestyle assets; the second is the assets required to protect that lifestyle; and the third is your adventure assets. I have a significant adventure assets pool. I am looking at acquiring land across Western Canada, investing in the service and the power sectors, and I’m still buying into start-up oil and gas companies.

Where do your children fit in?
When you get hit by the bus in life, you’ve got two places to send your money—children or charity. I’m not a big fan of this practice of opening the will to determine where Dad’s money went. My kids know the vast bulk of my estate will go to charity. The issue for me is giving while living, and the best way to manage that. I’ll be doing a lot of philanthropic work using both my leadership skills and my money. And the kids will be fine. None of them can live on the inheritance because, frankly, there isn’t one. Both my ex-wife and I hope they will develop passion in their own right.

You see, the $5 million mentioned was one of Brett’s latest charitable donations, an amount donated to help create the new Southern Alberta Institute of Urology.

Sean Wise has two interesting entries here and here about Brett (with photos). Here is a link to a very well researched and written article in Avenue magazine when Brett won the Person of the Year. (highly recommended)

P.S. Brett (his plan of having “vast bulk of my estate will go to charity” and his focus on integrity and honesty) reminds me a little bit of Warren Buffett (more on Warren here).

6 Responses to W. Brett Wilson – The Five Million Dollar Man

  1. […] definitely adds an additional meaning to my previous home-made blog entry title “The Five Million Dollar Man“. […]

  2. Mark Tomanek says:

    I brent I oringenaly born in NorthBattleford Saskatchewan, moved to BC, now in Alberta.

    I have started as a welding apprentice in 1997,Now here in 2009 I hold a Journeyman and Red Seal Ticket

    I have a idea, no patent so I’ll be very careful as not to indulge the idea,.

    I do need to find out how to get in contact with all funeral home across Canada.

    I have looked into equipment that i need and use the delivery system that already exists

    [… private information removed …]

    Please help an old Sask boy out

    [… private information removed …]

  3. Mark Tomanek says:

    Not sure if this will get to you ? have a good one

  4. kempton says:

    Mark,

    Brett has a website and an email address. But last I talked to him, he is not taking business ideas submission over the web/internet.

    Your best bet may be to go through the Dragons’ Den audition like other aspiring entrepreneurs for the 2010 season as they have shot the 2009 season already.

    Good luck.

  5. Michael Souliere says:

    Brett, my name is Michael Souliere, I am 53 years young, I am emploed as a Locomotive Engineer for CP Rail. I live in a small town in northwestern Ontario. I,m sure you get 100,s of e-mail similiar to mine. I have a new product and idea that I,m sure can make us both a lot of money. I am contacting you because I like you best of all the Dragons. YOU strike as a honest man, with morals and integrity. Is it possible to meet with you to discuss my new product and idea. This new product has to do with hunting, and I,m sure you are aware of how much money hunters in canada and US alone, spend every year on their passion. Anyway, hoping to hear from you. Have a Wonderful Christmas and a Terrific New Year. God Bless Michael Souliere.

  6. kempton says:

    Hi Michael,

    Please read my previous comment. I am enclosing her for you again.

    Regards,
    Kempton

    ***********

    Brett has a website and an email address. But last I talked to him, he is not taking business ideas submission over the web/internet.

    Your best bet may be to go through the Dragons’ Den audition like other aspiring entrepreneurs for the 2010 season as they have shot the 2009 season already.

    Good luck.

